The Ruth Arbuckle Scholarship was established in 2018 by Eled V. [Bud] Toly ’56.Miss Arbuckle was a member of the Lincoln community for more than six decades, beginning with her enrollment as a freshman in 1917.

She devoted her life to Lincoln. Following graduation from the University of Oregon, Miss Arbuckle returned to her alma mater to teach English. As college counselor for nearly three decades, she gained national recognition from admissions panels for her guidance of students into the post-high school world.

This scholarship is awarded to a student who shows a sustained love for Lincoln, demonstrates thoughtful concern, kindness and consideration for others, and maintains high academic standards. Priority consideration is given to a student planning to attend an Oregon public college or university.

The Asa I Arnsberg Scholarship was established in 2018 by Susan Arnsberg Diamond, class of 1957 and president of the Arnsberg Family Foundation; and Robert L. Arnsberg, class of 1960 and director of the foundation board.

As Susan Diamond said of her father: "I think Dad would be extremely pleased to know another ambitious, needy college freshman will receive some additional funding for the first year, whether it’s a two or four-year state college or university in Oregon. Higher education is so necessary in today’s world, and economically an Oregon resident’s best financial option.Thus, the recipient must attend an Oregon state-run college, and need is this scholarship’s #1 criterion."

Congratulations to the 2019 LHSAA Scholarship Recipients!

Marie Allen Award for service  - Alice Evans
Ruth Arbuckle Scholarship - Willow Ostman
Dr. Shirley Malcom Scholarship - Spence Miller
Cardinal STEM-Dickey Scholarship - Quinn McElroy- Fuchs
LHSAA Leadership Scholarship - Myles Parkel
Asa I Arnsberg Scholarship - Andre Gonzales
Bertha Hunter Scholarship - Ella Walker Meloy


We welcome all donations to the LHSAA Endowment Fund

You can donate by clicking on this link  THANK YOU FOR YOUR DONATION! 

or you can mail a check to:

Lincoln High School Alumni Association

4931 SW 76th Ave #282

Portland OR 97225-1805


Our Scholarship Funds are managed by Oregon Community Foundation,

1221 SW Yamhill St #100, Portland, OR 97205

If you are interested in including the Lincoln High School Endowment Fund in your estate planning, please click this link

 OCF has information 

LHSAA Endowment Committee Members

Vincent Galindo, Lincoln parent- Chairman

David Perlman '65 - LHSAA Board President

Dana Cress '64 - Board Secretary/Treasurer

David Bailey -  Lincoln retired teacher

Jessica Russell '05 - Lincoln Athletic Director 

Tiffani Penson '87 - City of Portland Diversity Officer

Linda Cohn - (past) LHS PTA President

Mike Lynch - Adviser

If you are interested in being a member of the Scholarship Selection Committee, please email the LHSAA Endowment Committee with this link.

Copyright © Lincoln High School Alumni Association, Portland, Oregon. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software